2018 College Scholarship Recipients

In 2018, Clearwater For Youth offered up to twelve $5,000 and two $10,000 college scholarships and were presented at our Celebrity Banquet on February 24th. Each scholarship is currently given over a two or four year period ($2,500 per year) for college expenses. The recipients must be local graduating high school seniors.

Jonathan Godinez-Rodriguez, Countryside High School – Pinellas County Sheriff’s Office $10,000 Scholarship presented by Clearwater Chief of Police, Daniel Slaughter

Kade Burley, Calvary Christian High School – Angelo Dundee Memorial $5,000 Scholarship presented by Jim Dundee

Alyson Chlopek, Countryside High School – Clara Borum Memorial Scholarship presented by Dawn Daugherty

Caleb Elliott, Clearwater High School – Simpson Air – Operation Graduate $5,000 Scholarship presented by Garry Simpson

Lucas Gelep, Palm Harbor University High School – Drs. Kiran & Pallavi Patel Family Foundation $5,000 Scholarship

Hannah Jenkins, Clearwater High School – Clearwater Solid Waste/Recycling $5,000 Scholarship presented by Earl Gloster

Ashlee Klinefelter, Clearwater High School – Michele Smith Gold Medal $5,000 Scholarship presented by Michele Smith and accepted by her father and sister on her behalf

Alex Kurleman, Calvery Christian High School – Don Zimmer Memorial $5,000 Scholarship presented by Soot Zimmer

November Morton, Countryside High School – Baystar Restaurant Group $5,000 Scholarship presented by Frank Chivas

Annie Muller, Clearwater High School – Pinellas County Sheriff’s Office $5,000 Scholarship presented by Clearwater Chief of Police, Daniel Slaughter

Devin Ortega, Clearwater High School – Clearwater Gas System $5,000 Scholarship presented by Chuck Warrington

Garrett Toenjes, Palm Harbor University High School – Dealers Auto Xchange $5,000 Scholarship presented by Gary Connors and Alan Willard.

Katherine Williamson, Calvary Christian High School – Art Capogna Memorial $5,000 Scholarship presented by Al Capogna, Stefani DeMaio, and Mike Capogna.

2018 Scholarship Application

(Click the links below to automatically download the application and need based form.)

CFY College Scholarship Application 2018

CFY College Scholarship Need Based Form 2018

After you have downloaded this form, you can save and edit it in Word format. Once you have completed the form, you can email it to us at Thank you.

The criteria are as follows:

This award is given to a graduating high school senior that has participated in youth and or high school sports activities as well as other extracurricular activities and has through their participation shown “the highest qualities of good sportsmanship, teamwork and moral standards.”

The recipient is recommended by the Clearwater For Youth Scholarship Committee and approved by the Board of Trustees. The recipient should have participated in youth and or high school sports, as well as other activities for a reasonable length of time and demonstrated to their peers and coaches the qualities outlined above. The award will help defray the costs of tuition, books, room and board or other college expenses.

Great weight is given in a variety of areas including financial need, academics, sports achievements, leadership and Clearwater For Youth co-sponsor group participation. The target area includes Pinellas County, more specifically in the greater Clearwater, North Pinellas area.

Scholarship candidates should email the CFY application along with one page essay “Why are you interested in the Clearwater for Youth Scholarship?” to to be considered. The application includes current high school, GPA, extracurricular activities and awards (particularly, but not exclusively in athletics) and participation in any youth athletics, along with anticipated universities they may plan on attending and sport(s) they may be continuing at the collegiate level. To be given due consideration for need based weighted college scholarship parents(s) of applicants need to submit the additional form along with the college scholarship application.

(All applications will be reviewed and the scholarship recipient and parents will be invited to attend the CFY Celebrity Banquet, February 24, 2018 at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, Clearwater Beach, where the awards will be presented as part of the program. Recipients will also be invited and recognized by the Mayor and City Council at the Clearwater City Council meeting on March 1, 2018.)

Deadline for application consideration has been extended to January 29, 2018. Recipients will be notified the week of February 4th.

Clearwater For Youth, through your support continues to insure “ no child is turned away” due to financial concerns.